Home

We are close! So close, I just sent out an invite for a housewarming party instead of packing up my rental. I’m tired. I’ve meant to post more often here, but something happens that I didn’t fully realize when we started. The beginning and middle of a large remodel are exciting and it’s really quite amazing to see the transformation. This last leg is long and somewhat painful. It’s a bit like the dreaded third trimester of pregnancy. At 37 weeks, you realize there is NO FUCKING WAY you can make it another day with a 10 pound baby inside of you and then you realize, you still have three weeks to go!

That pretty much sums up how I feel at this point. Every day, we head to the house to see the progress and since I’m there so often I know for a fact there is always at least three people working hard all day long, but most days we can only see a few minor details that have changed. Don’t get me wrong, it’s gorgeous and for all the horror stories I’ve heard regarding remodels, I’m feeling grateful for the process. No big blow ups, no major set backs or surprises and our contractors are a talented team of good people (http://www.niederbergercontracting.com) that I’d recommend all day long.
But, we’re ready to go home. Ready to actually unpack our boxes for the first time in a year and a half. Ready to shift our thoughts and energy elsewhere and to enjoy the home we’ve built.
Here are some pics from the past few months.
Cheers!
Leave a Reply

